The Clayton Cup is a trophy awarded by the Country Rugby League to the NSW country rugby league team with the best overall record for that season. To be eligible, the team must win the highest level of competition in its region. Usually the winner of the Clayton Cup goes through the season undefeated. 

The Cup was donated by Reub Clayton, an early rugby league administrator in country NSW, and was first awarded in 1937 to West Tamworth Lions. Since then, the Tweed Heads SeagullsForster Tuncurry Hawks and Cobar Roosters have been the most successful clubs, each winning the trophy three times.


1938 Nimmitabel Clayton Cup Winners

1938 Nimmitabel clayton cup winners

1947 Bombala Clayton Cup Winners

1947 Bombala clayton cup winners

1970 Delegate RLFC Clayton Cup Winners

1970 Delegate clayton cup winners
1970 Delegate Clayton Cup Blazer presentation
1970 Delegate Clayton Cup Blazer Ball
Back Row L to R. Ken Talbot,  Brendon Crawford,  Bill Nichol,  Ken Callaughan ,   Eddie Sellers (Obscured)
2nd row. Dennis Callaway,  Arthur Collins,  David Manning,  Barry Reed,
3rd Row.  Garry Jones,  John Callaughan,   Blazer Presenter- Dennis Pittard (South Sydney)
4th row. Max Clear,  Paul Clear – Caption Coach,  Ron Collins
Missing from photo Mike Nixon, Tom Ventry and Colin Kirby

1976 Bombala Clayton Cup Winners

1976 Bombala clayton cup winners

1988 Bega Roosters Clayton Cup Winners

1988 Bega Roosters clayton cup winners
Back Row L to R.  John Sproates, Brett Deacon, Ray Ringland, Michael Driscoll, Andrew Campbell, Tom McCoy, Grant Dowdle,  Stuart Smith, Bruce Collins.
Front Row L to R.  Barry Grant, Greg Stevenson, Greg Motbey, Lloyd Martin Capt Coach, John Cooper, Peter Kennedy.

1997 Eden Tigers Clayton Cup Winners

Eden tigers clayton cup 1997

2003 Narooma Devils RLFC Clayton Cup Winners

narooma devils clayton cup winners

From Back Left: David Boyle (Capt-Coach), Ross Griffiths, Bill Wilson (obscured -Trainer), Brett Jessop, Adrian Foster, Des Siddons, Robert Kenny, Cameron Rowley, John Davis (obscured), Troy Beecham, Andrew Barry, Geoff Lecher (Strapper).

Front Row:Brad Mayberry, Gene Willis, Dave Hudson, Zeke Moreton, Grant Jessop (behind), Dane Terare, Drew Houston, Scott Laurie.

In front holding shield: Morgan Boyle (now playing NRL)

2016 Moruya Sharks Clayton Cup Winners

moruya sharks 2016 clayton cup winners